Product review: Stevia sweeteners side by side

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Sunday, 06 December 2009.
Tagged: additives, diabetes, diabetes type 2, diet foods, diets, drinks, review, sugar, sugar substitutes, sugary drinks, sweetener

Product review: Stevia sweeteners side by side

A "natural" sweetener, Stevia was approved for use in late in 2008 in Australia and the US and the first Stevia products are now appearing on the supermarket shelves.

It's not considered "artificial" and marketing for stevia makes much of it being 100% natural - which appeals to consumers - compared to aspartame or acesulfame-K which are often regarded as "chemical" and can't escape the cancer-scare rumours that have been circulating for years.

Background on stevia

Stevia (stee-vee-ah) is derived from the leaves of a sweet plant native to Paraguay in South America. It's 250 to 300 times sweeter than sugar gram for gram but supplies no kilojoules (calories) and does not raise blood sugar. Read about stevia, where it comes from, how it's made, its glycosides that are the active compounds and how it affects your body  in my Articles section.

Glycosides are the active compounds in Stevia that give it its sweet flavour. However there is a slight aftertaste which I pick up and dislike - some people notice and dislike while others don't mind it. To me, it's not the same as sugar but IS way better in taste than the older sweeteners such as saccharin or even aspartame.

Stevia - test-driving the products ...

Sweetener No 1:  CSR SmartTM White Sugar Blend

csr-smart_sugarThis looks like a regular white sugar but has a tiny addition of stevia powder - only 0.4% steviol glycosides plus 99.6% sugar. Smart™ is twice as sweet as ordinary sugar so you only need to use half as much.

Manufacturer

CSR who market most of the sugar in Australia

Taste 7/10

7/10 relative to ordinary sugar.

You still get an after-taste in the back of your mouth as you swallow. It's slightly liquorice overtone is not unpleasant but is noticable. I sneaked half a teaspoon into my husband's tea without him knowing and he picked it straight away.

Nutrition 7/10

7/10 as it helps dieters to cut their sugar intake by half.
Half a teaspoon (2g) has only 34kJ / 8 cals compared to 65kJ / 15 cals for a teaspoon of sugar.

Ingredients

Sugar 99.6%, sweetener (Steviol Glycosides 0.4%)

On-pack claims

  • "Better for you"
  • "Contains natural ingredients"
  • "50% less Calories - twice as sweet so you use half as much"

Convenience 10/10

It looks and tastes exactly like white sugar. You simply use half the quantity you normally use for the same sweetness. Bear in mind that it's expensive - prepare to pay $2 for a 500g pack (which is 40c per 100g) compared with $1.20 for 500g sugar (24c per 100g).

 

Sweetener No 2:  PureViaTM stevia sachets

pureviaThese look like the little sachets of Equal® that you spot at cafes as a dieter's alternative to sugar.

Manufacturer

Whole Earth Sweetener company, a subsidiary of Merisant who also manufacturer Equal®.

Taste  6/10

Not as ‘clean' a taste as CSR Smart. On a par with Equal®.

Nutrition 8/10

One sachet (2g) gives you 13 kJ (3 cals) but is equivalent in sweetness to two level teaspoons of sugar at 140kJ (33 cals). It's not pure Stevia - it's a blend of three sweeteners (erythritol, isomaltulose and steviol glycosides), along with flavours plus a cellulose powder bulking agent. The amount of Stevia is so small, it needs the cellulose to make it manageable.

On-pack claims

"PureViaTM, the natural sweetener blend with 90% less kilojoules than sugar, made with the pure, sweet extracts of the Stevia plant. We blend these extracts, known as Steviol Glycosides, with other carefully selected ingredients to give you the smooth, sweet taste of PureVia™."

Convenience 8 out of 10

One PureVia™ sachet (13kJ or 3 cals) is equivalent in sweetness to two level teaspoons of sugar (140kJ).

For some strange reason, they are equivalent to two teaspoons of sugar which is fine if that's the amount you normally add to your coffee or tea but you end up wasting half the sachet if you only want one teaspoon. For dieters, I wouldn't want them getting used to two teaspoons of sugar per cup.

 

Sweetener No 3:  Hermesetas SteviaSweetTM

Stevia Hermesetas-SteviaSweet high resThis comes in three forms - granulated for use in cooking and baking as well as sachets and tablets for coffee and tea.

Manufacturer

Hermesetas who also manufacture sweeteners (saccharin years ago, later aspartame) in tablet and sachet form for many years.

Taste 7/10

7 out of 10 compared to sugar

Nutrition 8/10

The granules are a blend of a starch carrier maltodextrin (53%) together with fructofibres (inulin 34% plus oligofructose 8%) for fibre and the base sweetener steviol glycosides (5%), So it's high in soluble fibres and prebiotic which stimulate the growth of friendly bacteria in the bowel.

On-pack claimsStevia Hermesetas-Granular high Res

  • "100% natural sweetening ingredient"
  • "90% less calories than sugar"
  • "40% fibre"
  • "Suitable for cooking and baking"
  • "Low Carb / low GI"

Convenience 10/10

The granules are versatile for sweeteneing fruit and desserts as well as coffee and tea. Use cup for cup to replace sugar, so 1 cup sugar = 1 cup SteviaSweet™. The weight is one-tenth the weigh of sugar, so 50g sugar = 5 g Steviasweet™.

 

Your feedback

Have you tried Stevia yet? I'd love to have your feedback on these products. Feel free to leave a comment below.

 

Related information

  • Read my review of LowGIcane sugar in the Foodwatch Reviews & Chews section and see whether it would suit you instead of these stevia sweeteners.
  • Want to cut back on your sugar intake? Download my handy Fact Sheet on sugar - where it's hiding, how much is in the everyday foods we love to eat, how much is OK to have, and 4 easy ways to eat less.

 

Catherine Saxelby

About the Author

Catherine Saxelby has the answers! She is an accredited nutritionist, blogger and award-winning author. Her latest book Nutrition for Life  is a new update on all the things you've read or heard about. Think insects, collagen, vegan eating, Keto dieting, vitamin B12, fast food and cafe culture.  It has plenty of colour pictures and is easy to dip in and out of. Grab your copy NOW! 

= Reviews =

  • Product Review: super-high-oleic-safflower-oil

    Product review: Super high-oleic safflower oil

    11 May 2022 by, Catherine Saxelby

    “What does super high-oleic mean?” I hear you ask.  Also, “I haven’t heard of safflower for ages. What’s the deal?” Read on and all will be explained.

  • Product Review: Healthy Life Food Tracker

    Product review: Healthy Life Food Tracker

    6 April 2022 by, Catherine Saxelby

    When I was first asked to write this review, I thought, Not another tracker.

    After all, there have been several in recent years, such as My Fitness Pal and Everyday Diet Diary. But this one is different. It works by using your Everyday Rewards card AND your shop at Woolworths.

  • Product review: Lite n' Easy

    Product review: Lite n' Easy

    20 October 2021 by, Catherine Saxelby

    With home delivery on the rise, this post is reviewing none other than that stalwart Lite n’ Easy. We all know their meals are good for weight loss (which we all need after COVID-19!), but did you know they’re also good for general health and wellbeing ? Eating well to nourish yourself – putting your mental health and wellbeing at the forefront – is gaining momentum. Lite n’ Easy meals also ensures you satisfy your need for vitamins, minerals, fibre and phyto-compounds, such as sterols and carotenoids.

    clipboardThis post has been sponsored by Lite n' Easy.  

     

  • Product review:  Birds Eye Plant Based range

    Product review: Birds Eye Plant Based range

    15 September 2021 by, Catherine Saxelby

    When you think of Birds Eye, their frozen peas and fish fingers probably come to mind. But I bet you’d never think of plant-based products!

    clipboardThis post has been sponsored by Birds Eye. 

  • Read on - here I take a look at these cute mini-pots of fresh growing herbs for your kitchen. Are they worth buying? Are they easy to look after?

    Product Snapshot: Olina’s Snackers Crackers

    2 June 2021 by, Catherine Saxelby

    We sampled Olina’s latest offering in the seeded cracker range – called Olina’s Bakehouse Seriously Seedy Snackers (which is a great name BTW). They come in four flavours: Barbecue, Chilli & Lime, Beetroot & Sour Cream, and Balsamic Vinegar & Caramelised Onion. Take a look at our verdict.

  • Product review: Leggo’s Organic Sauces

    Product review: Leggo’s Organic Sauces

    19 May 2021 by, Catherine Saxelby

    These new organic pasta sauces from Leggo’s come in three varieties – Organic Tomato and Basil, Organic Tomato and Garlic, and Organic Tomato and Veggies. All of them sport an impressive 4.5 Health Star Rating (HSR). Read on to see how they fared in my taste tests and under the nutrition microscope.

    clipboardThis post has been sponsored by Leggo’s.

  • Read on - here I take a look at these cute mini-pots of fresh growing herbs for your kitchen. Are they worth buying? Are they easy to look after?

    Product snapshot – Woolworths' Fruit sourdough, is it a better alternative to other fruit breads?

    21 April 2021 by, Guest post

    I’m sure we all like a slice of toasted fruit loaf with our morning coffee from time to time. I certainly do but I’m always worried about the amount of added sugar in them. That’s why I was interested to try Woolworths Fruit and Seed Sourdough bread. Take a look at my findings…

  • Read on - here I take a look at these cute mini-pots of fresh growing herbs for your kitchen. Are they worth buying? Are they easy to look after?

    Product Snapshot – Carman’s Protein Salted Caramel Nut Butter bar

    10 February 2021 by, Guest reviewer

    There’s a plethora of muesli bars, nut bars, nut and seed bars available these days. I’ve tried several and none really hit the spot for me. I’ve had a few that tasted a bit rancid and others that were way, way too sweet. That’s why I tried these bars. Here's what I found…

  • Read on - here I take a look at these cute mini-pots of fresh growing herbs for your kitchen. Are they worth buying? Are they easy to look after?

    Product Snapshot: Woolworths Soft wraps with 65% less carb

    27 January 2021 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Low carb products are all the rage at the moment. Those on keto and low carb diets are always on the lookout for low carb versions of their favourite foods such as breads and wraps. We’ve already reviewed low carb breads and low carb potatoes and now we’re now giving you a quick look at these soft wraps from Woolworths which have 65 per cent less carbs.

  • Read on - here I take a look at these cute mini-pots of fresh growing herbs for your kitchen. Are they worth buying? Are they easy to look after?

    Product Snapshot: Nudus fruit and veg chips

    18 November 2020 by, Guest reviewer

    If you’re on social media, then you’re almost guaranteed to have heard of Nudus. They seem to be carpet bombing the Instagram and Facebook feeds. This made me curious (yes, the ads worked!) to see what they were like as they have 5 Health Stars and claim to be made from 100% fruit or veg.

  • Read on - here I take a look at these cute mini-pots of fresh growing herbs for your kitchen. Are they worth buying? Are they easy to look after?

    Product Snapshot – Dillicious – Australian Dill Pickles

    21 October 2020 by, Guest reviewer

    I’m a big fan of dill pickles so I was interested to try these Dillicious Aussie ones. I ordered them online and they arrived in short order, well packaged in recyclable materials. Take a look at what I thought of them.

= Healthy Weight Loss =

  • What is your relationship with food and eating?

    How to beat those cravings

    20 January 2021 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Many of us have cravings from time to time and for different reasons. One thing is certain, they can sabotage all your best efforts at a healthy diet and/or weight loss. The good news? You CAN beat them. I’ll tell you how.

  • What is your relationship with food and eating?

    How to lose weight WITHOUT going on a diet

    14 October 2020 by, Catherine Saxelby

    The word 'diet' is a turn-off for most people. It sounds hard, unpleasant and unpalatable. Losing weight doesn’t have to be hard AND it doesn’t have mean sticking to a 'diet'. You can forget Paleo, Keto, Vegan and Raw, Gluten-free and Intermittent Fasting. To lose weight, you don’t have to follow any specific diet. What you need is simple, healthy, nutritious food and a few tips and tricks.

  • What IS a healthy balanced diet for weight loss?

    What IS a healthy balanced diet for weight loss?

    16 September 2020 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Healthy weight loss happens when you lose weight slowly and steadily (around 1 kg or 2 pounds weight loss a week). Your goal is to lose weight while still getting your essential nutrients but from smaller portions. You certainly don’t want to be tired with no energy! That’s why you need regular healthy meals and snacks on hand to ensure your vitamins, minerals, omega-3s and fibre needs can be easily met. There is a new range of healthy weight loss meals available and it’s one that I’d like to recommend. With these ready meals, you’ll say goodbye to meal planning, shopping, meal preparation and cooking.

    This post is sponsored by Chefgood 

  • Kitchen make-over for the New Year

    Kitchen make-over for the New Year

    8 January 2020 by, Catherine Saxelby

     “This year, I'm going to lose weight!”, or “This year I’m opting for a healthier lifestyle!” Is your 2020 New Year's resolution something like one of these? If so, how is it going to happen?

  • 7 reasons your body will love a bowl of soup!

    7 reasons your body will love a bowl of soup!

    7 August 2019 by, Catherine Saxelby

    I love soup, whether in a bowl, a mug or on-the-go. It’s easy to make in bulk and freeze in portions for later so you don’t have to do as much cooking or spend that precious time in the kitchen. So, why not make up a big pot today and keep it for when you’re starving before a meal or as a between-meal snack? Your body will thank you for it.

  • Should you really “breakfast like a king” if you want to lose weight?

    Should you really “breakfast like a king” if you want to lose weight?

    24 April 2019 by, Catherine Saxelby

    As nutritionists, we were always taught that “breakfast is the most important meal of the day”, especially for people who want to lose weight. Now a review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials published in the British Medical Journal (BMJ 2019;364:l42 ) throws doubt on this old adage.

  • What is your relationship with food and eating?

    Fasts and fasting – religious and nutrition based

    16 January 2019 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Every major religion has some sort of fast. In the 1960s, I grew up as a Catholic and the Lenten ritual of giving up something (for me it was sugar in my tea and coffee) and fasting was a normal part of the year. We also used to fast one hour before Mass so we could receive the sacrament of Holy Communion on an empty stomach. No meat was allowed on Fridays (which later morphed into only the Fridays of Lent). Here we examine the traditional fasts of major religions as well the newer nutrition-based fasts for weight loss. See if it’s something you can manage …

  • What is your relationship with food and eating?

    What actually is ketosis? Is it good or bad for you?

    13 June 2018 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Ketosis is when you push your body’s metabolism to burn stored fat for energy instead of sugar. So how do you do it? And is it good for you?

  • What's better for weight loss OR health?

    What's better for weight loss and health? Low-carb or low-fat?

    9 May 2018 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Recent studies have provided an interesting insight into the perennial ‘dieters’ dilemma’ - “Low-carb OR low-fat?” Which is better for your health? Which is better for weight loss? The results are in, so let’s take a look.

  • 7 best vegetables to help you lose weight (with serving ideas)

    7 best vegetables to help you lose weight (with serving ideas)

    8 February 2017 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Maintaining a healthy weight and lifestyle doesn’t have to be difficult or painful. As a nutritionist dedicated to helping busy women eat healthily I have the answer! Fresh vegetables are the key. They taste great, they’re full of vitamins, minerals and fibre too. Take a look…

  • What is your relationship with food and eating?

    7 weight loss hacks to do NOW

    11 January 2017 by, Catherine Saxelby

    Finding it hard to shed those extra kilos or pounds? New Year is traditionally a time for new beginnings so now is the ideal time to change your eating habits and the ways you exercise. It’s all about eating better on less and getting more movement into your day. Here are my fave 7 tips and tricks to boost your metabolism, burn more energy and promote healthy weight loss