Reviews

Product Snapshot: Sanitarium’s Fibre Start Drink

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 30 July 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: almonds, breakfast, fibre, healthy eating, high fibre, Liquid breakfast, milk, Product Snapshot, review, soy, soy milk

Product Snapshot: Sanitarium’s Fibre Start Drink

With claims such as “Fibre made easy” and “One-third of your daily fibre in a glass”, this new milk sounds soooo appealing to anyone who hates 'brown' fibrous food like 'branny', chaff-like cereal, smelly cabbage or heavy dark bread. But how does it stack up for real fibre? And what does it taste like? Really.

Product Snapshot – Simply Nature’s Fresh Wholemeal Bread using 7 ingredients

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Thursday, 10 July 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: 7 ingredients, Product Snapshot, review, Wholemeal bread

Product Snapshot – Simply Nature’s Fresh Wholemeal Bread using 7 ingredients

I recently noticed a bread I hadn’t seen before in my local supermarket. What caught my eye was the tag-line – 7 Ingredients. Take a look at the bread in your pantry and I’m guessing you’ll find anywhere between 11 and 20+ ingredients including emulsifiers and preservatives etc! I decided to give Simply Nature’s Fresh Wholemeal Sandwich a go and see how well it stacked up for taste, texture and keeping power with other wholemeal loaves I’ve bought.

Product Snapshot: Helga’s Lower Carb bread

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Thursday, 19 June 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: bread, carbohydrates, carbs, healthy cooking, healthy eating, Lower carb bread, Product Snapshot, seeds

Product Snapshot: Helga’s Lower Carb bread

Bread has been under attack in recent times thanks to the grain-free diets beloveded by “Paleo passionates” as well as the ever-increasing popular trend away from gluten, the main protein of the two basic grain flours used in bread – wheat and rye. So when I spotted new “lower-carb” loaves at my supermarket, I could see how one company, Helga’s, had decided to counter these attacks. I decided to tuck in and check them out.

Product Review: Love Beets

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 23 May 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: beetroot, canned food, canned foods, convenience, fibre, healthy eating, Love Beets, review, reviews, salad, salads, vegetables

Product Review: Love Beets

I’m a fan of beetroot and love it in salads – imagine whole cooked beets tossed through mint leaves, coriander, orange segments, radish and pearl couscous. Yum. And there’s nothing more Aussie than a slice of that purple root peeping out of a burger or steak sandwich. So when I received a sample of the new Love Beets vacuum-sealed, whole cooked, baby beetroots, I had to “give them a go”.

Product Snapshot: Barilla whole grain penne pasta

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Monday, 14 April 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: healthy cooking, healthy eating, pasta, Product snapshot, whole grains

Product Snapshot: Barilla whole grain penne pasta

From breakfast cereals to breads, I’m a big fan of eating whole grains but when it comes to pasta, whole grain or high-fibre versions have been, well, pretty dreadful. In the past, I’ve cooked up pastas that have been dark, thick and heavy. They made eating feel like hard work. Any time I’d try and sneak them past the husband, he’d pick them straight away.

Product Snapshot: Tassal Easy Bake Atlantic salmon fillets

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 07 February 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: convenience, dinners, fish, fish oil, fish oils, fresh food, fresh foods, healthy cooking, healthy eating, meal planning, meals in minutes, oily fish, omega-3, Paleo diet, Product snapshot, protein, salmon

Product Snapshot: Tassal Easy Bake Atlantic salmon fillets

Nutritionists recommend two serves of oily fish a week but I find it hard to eat this regularly without resorting to canned salmon or tuna. I love the cans – don’t get me wrong - but they’re not the same as a fish fillet that I can substitute for a steak or chicken portion as a quick working week dinner meal (You can see how fixated I am on quick everyday dinners!). And you’ve got to take more care with fish than chicken or beef, haven’t you?

Product Review: HelloFresh Meals

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 31 January 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: convenience, cooking for one, diet meals, dinners, fresh food, fresh foods, healthy cooking, healthy eating, healthy food, meal planning, meals in minutes, mix 'n' match meals, portion size, vegetables

Product Review: HelloFresh Meals

Cooking a healthy dinner from fresh ingredients is a big goal of mine this year. At the moment, there’s only two of us at home as the 20-something vegetarian is travelling in Vietnam so it’s never been easier.

Dinner for two, no ingredients to exclude, huge choice, but after a long day writing, I have to admit feeling brain-dead about the ‘daily dinner decision’ as I call it. You know the drill, thinking of what to cook or finding a recipe and heading out for a quick shop, or peering inside the fridge or freezer and doing a mental jig with the ingredients (this goes with that or that or that).

Product Snapshots – Chobani Greek Yoghurt Pouches

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 18 December 2013. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: calcium, Chobani, dairy, healthy eating, healthy snacks, Product snapshot, yoghurt

Product Snapshots – Chobani Greek Yoghurt Pouches

Chobani Greek yoghurt tubs have become a favourite on supermarket shelves. Their colourful tubs sold in a range of fruit flavours as well as the standard plain and honey flavours, take up a good section of the dairy case at my local supermarket. They are hard to miss. So it came as no surprise when I spotted their new range of convenient single-serve yoghurt pouches. Pouches are the big trend of the moment – just witness the number of new fruit purées, baby foods, fruit gels and yoghurts now in convenient pouch form.