Reviews

Product Snapshot: Kellog's All-Bran Fibre Muesli

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Thursday, 14 August 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: breakfast, breakfast cereals, fibre, healthy eating, high fibre, muesli, review

Product Snapshot: Kellog's All-Bran Fibre Muesli

Better known for its puffs, pops, flakes and sugary cereals, Kellogg's has never gone into the muesli market. It's copped a lot of criticism for its pre-sweetened cereals aimed at kids and recently for its liquid breakfasts so I was quite surprised to receive a sample of its new High-Fibre Muesli under the better-for-you All-Bran brand which has long held reign as the cereal you reach for when you want the most fibre.

Product Snapshot - Five:AM organic sweetened yoghurt

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 06 August 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: breakfast, dessert yoghurt, healthy eating, Liquid breakfast, Product Snapshot, review, yoghurt

Product Snapshot - Five:AM organic sweetened yoghurt

I love yoghurt! I eat it with my breakfast muesli and any time I feel like a decent snack. Oh, and served with strawberries, blueberries and passionfruit as a quick summer dessert. I keep being impressed with the flavour and ingredients in this organic yoghurt called “FIVE:AM”, that I found at the supermarket. So I thought I’d delve deeper ...

Product Snapshot: Sanitarium’s Fibre Start Drink

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 30 July 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: almonds, breakfast, fibre, healthy eating, high fibre, Liquid breakfast, milk, Product Snapshot, review, soy, soy milk

Product Snapshot: Sanitarium’s Fibre Start Drink

With claims such as “Fibre made easy” and “One-third of your daily fibre in a glass”, this new milk sounds soooo appealing to anyone who hates 'brown' fibrous food like 'branny', chaff-like cereal, smelly cabbage or heavy dark bread. But how does it stack up for real fibre? And what does it taste like? Really.

Product Snapshot – Simply Nature’s Fresh Wholemeal Bread using 7 ingredients

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Thursday, 10 July 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: 7 ingredients, Product Snapshot, review, Wholemeal bread

Product Snapshot – Simply Nature’s Fresh Wholemeal Bread using 7 ingredients

I recently noticed a bread I hadn’t seen before in my local supermarket. What caught my eye was the tag-line – 7 Ingredients. Take a look at the bread in your pantry and I’m guessing you’ll find anywhere between 11 and 20+ ingredients including emulsifiers and preservatives etc! I decided to give Simply Nature’s Fresh Wholemeal Sandwich a go and see how well it stacked up for taste, texture and keeping power with other wholemeal loaves I’ve bought.

Product Snapshot: Helga’s Lower Carb bread

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Thursday, 19 June 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: bread, carbohydrates, carbs, healthy cooking, healthy eating, Lower carb bread, Product Snapshot, seeds

Product Snapshot: Helga’s Lower Carb bread

Bread has been under attack in recent times thanks to the grain-free diets beloveded by “Paleo passionates” as well as the ever-increasing popular trend away from gluten, the main protein of the two basic grain flours used in bread – wheat and rye. So when I spotted new “lower-carb” loaves at my supermarket, I could see how one company, Helga’s, had decided to counter these attacks. I decided to tuck in and check them out.

Product Review: Love Beets

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 23 May 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: beetroot, canned food, canned foods, convenience, fibre, healthy eating, Love Beets, review, reviews, salad, salads, vegetables

Product Review: Love Beets

I’m a fan of beetroot and love it in salads – imagine whole cooked beets tossed through mint leaves, coriander, orange segments, radish and pearl couscous. Yum. And there’s nothing more Aussie than a slice of that purple root peeping out of a burger or steak sandwich. So when I received a sample of the new Love Beets vacuum-sealed, whole cooked, baby beetroots, I had to “give them a go”.

Product Snapshot: Barilla whole grain penne pasta

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Monday, 14 April 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: healthy cooking, healthy eating, pasta, Product snapshot, whole grains

Product Snapshot: Barilla whole grain penne pasta

From breakfast cereals to breads, I’m a big fan of eating whole grains but when it comes to pasta, whole grain or high-fibre versions have been, well, pretty dreadful. In the past, I’ve cooked up pastas that have been dark, thick and heavy. They made eating feel like hard work. Any time I’d try and sneak them past the husband, he’d pick them straight away.

Product Snapshot: Tassal Easy Bake Atlantic salmon fillets

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 07 February 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: convenience, dinners, fish, fish oil, fish oils, fresh food, fresh foods, healthy cooking, healthy eating, meal planning, meals in minutes, oily fish, omega-3, Paleo diet, Product snapshot, protein, salmon

Product Snapshot: Tassal Easy Bake Atlantic salmon fillets

Nutritionists recommend two serves of oily fish a week but I find it hard to eat this regularly without resorting to canned salmon or tuna. I love the cans – don’t get me wrong - but they’re not the same as a fish fillet that I can substitute for a steak or chicken portion as a quick working week dinner meal (You can see how fixated I am on quick everyday dinners!). And you’ve got to take more care with fish than chicken or beef, haven’t you?