Reviews

Product Snapshot: Barilla whole grain penne pasta

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Monday, 14 April 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: healthy cooking, healthy eating, pasta, Product snapshot, whole grains

Product Snapshot: Barilla whole grain penne pasta

From breakfast cereals to breads, I’m a big fan of eating whole grains but when it comes to pasta, whole grain or high-fibre versions have been, well, pretty dreadful. In the past, I’ve cooked up pastas that have been dark, thick and heavy. They made eating feel like hard work. Any time I’d try and sneak them past the husband, he’d pick them straight away.

Product Snapshot: Tassal Easy Bake Atlantic salmon fillets

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 07 February 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: convenience, dinners, fish, fish oil, fish oils, fresh food, fresh foods, healthy cooking, healthy eating, meal planning, meals in minutes, oily fish, omega-3, Paleo diet, Product snapshot, protein, salmon

Product Snapshot: Tassal Easy Bake Atlantic salmon fillets

Nutritionists recommend two serves of oily fish a week but I find it hard to eat this regularly without resorting to canned salmon or tuna. I love the cans – don’t get me wrong - but they’re not the same as a fish fillet that I can substitute for a steak or chicken portion as a quick working week dinner meal (You can see how fixated I am on quick everyday dinners!). And you’ve got to take more care with fish than chicken or beef, haven’t you?

Product Review: HelloFresh Meals

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 31 January 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: convenience, cooking for one, diet meals, dinners, fresh food, fresh foods, healthy cooking, healthy eating, healthy food, meal planning, meals in minutes, mix 'n' match meals, portion size, vegetables

Product Review: HelloFresh Meals

Cooking a healthy dinner from fresh ingredients is a big goal of mine this year. At the moment, there’s only two of us at home as the 20-something vegetarian is travelling in Vietnam so it’s never been easier.

Dinner for two, no ingredients to exclude, huge choice, but after a long day writing, I have to admit feeling brain-dead about the ‘daily dinner decision’ as I call it. You know the drill, thinking of what to cook or finding a recipe and heading out for a quick shop, or peering inside the fridge or freezer and doing a mental jig with the ingredients (this goes with that or that or that).

Product Snapshots – Chobani Greek Yoghurt Pouches

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 18 December 2013. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: calcium, Chobani, dairy, healthy eating, healthy snacks, Product snapshot, yoghurt

Product Snapshots – Chobani Greek Yoghurt Pouches

Chobani Greek yoghurt tubs have become a favourite on supermarket shelves. Their colourful tubs sold in a range of fruit flavours as well as the standard plain and honey flavours, take up a good section of the dairy case at my local supermarket. They are hard to miss. So it came as no surprise when I spotted their new range of convenient single-serve yoghurt pouches. Pouches are the big trend of the moment – just witness the number of new fruit purées, baby foods, fruit gels and yoghurts now in convenient pouch form.

Product Snapshots - Kellogg’s Special K Biscuit Moments

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 04 December 2013. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: biscuits, healthy snacks, snack, sugar

Product Snapshots - Kellogg’s Special K Biscuit Moments

From the outside, this looks the size and shape of a muesli bar but contains two crisp, thinnish fruit-filled biscuits packed in an individual 25g pack. They’re sold in a box of 5 packs so you get 10 biscuits.

Yes they’re sweet, they’re refined and processed with added sugar and fat but then so are all other biscuits too. I like them because Kellogg's have got the serve size right – with 25 grams (just under an ounce), one Biscuit Moment wouldn’t be enough to satisfy but two just rounds off any sweet cravings nicely.

Product Review: Stevia and monkfruit sachets side-by-side

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Friday, 29 November 2013. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: artificial sweeteners, equal, healthy eating, monk fruit, natvia, stevia, sugar, sugar substitutes, sweeteners, tooth decay

Product Review: Stevia and monkfruit sachets side-by-side

Use of the sweetener stevia is becoming more widespread and a host of new brands (like Natvia) are coming on the market. What's more, existing sweeteners are being reformulated to contain stevia in place of aspartame or saccharin (like Equal). So we figured it was high time to taste test stevia products in convenient sachets. And we threw in a new sweetener called monk fruit (Luo Han Guo) as a comparison.

Product Snapshots - Bulla Cottage Cheese with crackers

on Wednesday, 27 November 2013. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: calcium, cottage cheese, dairy, healthy snacks, snack, sugar

Product Snapshots - Bulla Cottage Cheese with crackers

I love this new mini-tub of plain cottage cheese smartly/cleverly packed with a top container of water crackers. Easy to carry, small and compact, it has only 571 kilojoules (137 calories) per pack but claims “Less than 160 calories per serve” on the front of the label, for reasons I’m not sure of. Is 160 some magic cut-off number for a snack? 160 calories is equal to 672 kilojoules which is OVER the suggested 600 kilojoule cut-off for a small healthy snack in the official Australian Guide to Health Eating.

Book Review: The Mediterranean Diet by Catherine Itsiopoulos

on Wednesday, 20 November 2013. Posted in Reviews

Book Review: The Mediterranean Diet by Catherine Itsiopoulos

When we were planning our trip to the Greek Islands in 2009, I made sure we spent five days in Crete. After all, I had spent years sitting in lectures hearing about the famed Cretan Diet – the pinnacle of healthy eating and the Greek version of the Mediterranean Diet – and so no trip to Greece would have been complete for me without a visit to this large, historic, mountainous island.

What struck me most about Crete was how agricultural it was. On every piece of cultivatable land there were trees or crops of some sort growing – mostly groves of olive trees of all ages from youngish saplings to gnarled thousand-year-old specimens. And occasionally a field of fruit trees or nut trees as well as grains and vegetables.