Reviews

Film Review: That Sugar Film

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Monday, 02 March 2015. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: guides, nutrition, sugar

Film Review: That Sugar Film

ABC Radio asked me to review That Sugar Film and comment on how realistic or factual it was with regards to the average adult diet in Australia. Actor Damon Gameau, the film’s hero, goes on a 60-day journey where he eats ‘supposedly healthy’ foods to equal 40 teaspoons of sugar each day from 'hidden' sugars in processed foods. Like Morgan Spurlock in Super Size Me, Gameau documents the impact of such foods on his health and state of mind. There are many pieces to camera where he shares his feelings with the audience. Here are my thoughts.

Diet Book Review: I Quit Sugar

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 25 February 2015. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: Diet, nutrition, sugar, Weight loss

Diet Book Review: I Quit Sugar

Should you give up sugar entirely? And what about fruit? Is sugar a ‘poison’ or a ‘toxin’ as some people claim? Will you lose weight and have more energy? Written by Australian journalist Sarah Wilson, the book I Quit Sugar outlines the dangers of fructose in particular and sugar in general and provides an 8-week program for removing these substances from your daily diet. Here’s my review.

Book Review: The Ultimate Guide to Sugars and Sweeteners

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 04 February 2015. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: artificial sweeteners, guides, nutrition, sugar, sugar substitutes, sweetener

Book Review:  The Ultimate Guide to Sugars and Sweeteners

What’s the difference between muscovado, turbinado, demerara and rapadura sugars? Have you even heard of half of them? What is panela? And how is it different to evaporated cane juice? How can a white powdered sweetener like stevia or monkfruit that is produced in a factory be called ‘natural’? The answers to these sweet questions – and lots more - are in this great new book.

Product Snapshot: Lupin Foods' Lupin Flake

Written by Guest reviewer on Wednesday, 17 December 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: Product snapshot, review

Product Snapshot: Lupin Foods' Lupin Flake

Move over quinoa, there’s a new kid on the block - lupin. It’s nutritional scorecard shines, with this new lupin flake boasting claims of an “excellent source of fibre” and a “good source of protein”, even more so than other legumes and grains. But how can we actually use flaked lupin? And does it taste good enough to be the next super food?

Product Snapshot: Loving Earth Coconut Sugar

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 03 December 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: Coconut sugar, review

Product Snapshot: Loving Earth Coconut Sugar

Coconut is shaping up to be the foodie ingredient of the decade with coconut sugar being touted as the next big thing in natural sweeteners. So when I spotted a pack of the Loving Earth brand at an About Life health food store, I thought I’d check it out and see how it compares with regular brown sugar. Here are my reactions to its taste, nutrition and sustainability.

Product Snapshot: Cobram Extra-Virgin Olive Oils

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 22 October 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: Product Snapshot, review

Product Snapshot: Cobram Extra-Virgin Olive Oils

Extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO) adds its own special magic to any dish. Full of tantalising flavour and aroma, it is high in monounsaturated fatty acids. EVOO is the central component of the Mediterranean Diet which continues to top the charts for its longevity powers. It boasts a higher level of polyphenol antioxidants than regular olive oils and I love it drizzled over ripe tomatoes with basil or in a vinaigrette salad dressing. When I received a box of five fresh new season oils from Cobram, I invited a couple of foodie friends to do a blind olive oil tasting. Here’s how we rated the oils.

Product Snapshot: Hansells' All Natural Soup

Written by Foodwatch on Wednesday, 24 September 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: Product Snapshot, review, soup

Product Snapshot: Hansells' All Natural Soup

Guest post by Kathryn Hawkins (MDiet, APD,AN)

At the end of a long day there’s nothing more comforting than sitting down to a steaming bowl of soup. It really does seem to hit the spot! Hansells Food Group has released its new ‘All Natural Soup’ range with flavours from around the world. Packaged in rustic, wholesome-looking pouches and cups, with a panel across the front stating “100% Natural, no preservatives, gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian” it certainly piqued my curiosity! So I decided to check them out for ease of preparation, nutritional profile and, of course, taste!

Product Snapshot – Popcorners Snack food

Written by Catherine Saxelby on Wednesday, 03 September 2014. Posted in Reviews
Tagged: Product Snapshot, review, snack

Product Snapshot – Popcorners Snack food

Can’t say “No” to a handful of potato crisps? Love the crunch of corn chips? Then you may well like the healthier option of Popcorners. Dubbed as “the new shape of popcorn” and “popped corn chips”, these triangle-shaped, crunchy chips are a lower-fat alternative to the humble potato chip but they’re not without their drawbacks. Here’s how I found them in a taste-test …